Let’s Eat!: Fresh Mozzarella Stuffed Bruschetta

Hey y’all! I hosted a girls night at my house this week and made a health-ier Mozzarella Stuffed Bruschetta. Back in Jax, my favorite restaurant, Biscotti’s serves bruschetta stuffed with mozzarella. It’s one of my favorite things on the menu. Maybe I was feeling a little homesick, who knows. Regardless, I made the yummiest bruschetta and wanted to share the recipe with you! You’re welcome!

First, I found a healthy version of bruschetta on my favorite website, Skinnytaste. If you haven’t heard of Gina’s site, you are truly missing out. Her recipes are amazing and I’ve never had a bad thing. Everything is healthy and fresh. Gotta love it!

tomatobasilbruschetta 090514

Mozzarella Stuffed Bruschetta:

I used Gina’s Bruschetta with Tomato & Basil recipe and added a twist.

Ingredients:

        – 6 or 7 ripe plum tomatoes, diced
        – 2 cloves garlic, minced
        – 1/4 small red onion, chopped
        – 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
        – olive oil spray
        – 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
        – 6-8 fresh basil leaves, chopped
        – kosher salt
        – freshly ground black pepper to taste
        – 16 oz baguette or French bread
        – 1-2 garlic cloves, peeled
               – 1 roll of fresh mozzarella (I used Trader Joe’s)

Directions:

Combine tomatoes, chopped garlic, red onion, vinegar, oil, salt, pepper, and basil. Set aside.

Slice bread the long way (I tried this recipe twice. The first time, I just sliced it and stuffed with mozzarella. The second time, I cut it more of an angle and tried to scoop out some of the breading.) Slice the mozzarella in 1/4 inch slices and stuff the bread with it. Broil for 8-10 minutes (make sure to keep an eye on it, I burned the first loaf I made–as evidenced in the pictures above :-\).

Then, cover the bread/mozzarella in the tomato/basil mixture.

Slice and serve.

Leave a Reply

