Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hi guys,

I spent six hours cooking today so I would have enough healthy food for the week. I made Minestrone Soup, my own fresh tomato sauce (I winged it, and it was AMAZING), roasted veggies, Quinoa Breakfast Bars with Blueberries, and Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I winged these cookies, and I was impressed with how they turned out. They need to cook a little longer than traditional Tollhouse Cookies.

1 1/8 cup white flour
1 1/8 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter (or Crisco)
1/2 cup applesauce
1/4 1/8 cup sugar
1/4 1/8 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg, 2 egg whites
2 cups Carob chips

1) First, I mixed the Crisco, applesauce, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla.

2) Then, I added the eggs, salt, white flour, whole wheat flour, and baking soda.

3) Last, I added the Carob chips.

I baked them at 325 for 13 minutes.

Once they came out of the oven, I sprinkled them with Kosher salt.

I’m happy with them, though I think next time I may try oat flour instead of whole wheat flour.

Let’s chat! How do you lighten up your cookies? Have you ever cooked with Carob chips?

Leave a Reply

