Paying It Forward.

Happy New Year! One of my goals this year is to blog more consistently–so here goes ‘nothin!

What can you expect? My ultimate goal is to share healthy recipes, work out tips, restaurant reviews, and info on places I’ve visited. I’m not sure what my cadence will be, but I am going to aim for weekly. (Keep your fingers crossed, kids!)

My best friend has also started a blog about her new initiative, Paying It Forward 365 (visit it here). As the name eludes, her goal is to do something for someone else each day, and to pay it forward.  I, of course, have jumped on the bandwagon (what kind of friend doesn’t support their best friend?!)

The thing about “paying it forward” is that it doesn’t have to be anything expensive or big. It’s the small gestures that count. A few quick examples: shoveling a neighbor’s driveway, carrying groceries for an elderly shopper, dropping off cookies at your landlord’s, writing a thoughtful card to a friend, etc.

To jump start the initiative, I dropped off Dunkin’ Donuts Munchkins and coffee to a local fire department last night. I have to admit, I was a bit surprised by the reaction I got. When I told the Dunkin’ Donuts employee what I was doing, he gave me an incredulous look and said, “Really? That’s so weird. I mean, nice, but weird. No one ever does that. You mean you don’t know anyone at the fire department? You’re just doing it to be nice?” I gave him a blank stare and said, “Well…yeah. Why wouldn’t I?” It makes me a little sad to think that doing something out of the goodness of your heart is odd or strange. Anyways, I packed up all of my treats (side note: there is a deal going right now, where if you buy 25 munchkins, you get 25 free) and was on my way. As I was pulling into the fire station,  two emergency vehicles whirled out of the station running to a call. I was a bit perplexed–do I go into the building? Leave it outside? Am I even allowed inside? Surely, someone has to stay in case something comes up…so I hesitantly knocked on the door to no avail. Finally, I just went into their back office and called out until someone came. The firefighter looked a little surprised as well, but thanked me and said what a blessing I was. I am so thankful for what firefighters and police officers do. I am certainly not brave enough to do their job. What a great way to kick off 2013! #PIF365

What will you do in the upcoming year to pay it forward?

Leave a Reply

